North Dallas Wages Attorney for Unpaid Overtime and Wage Claims
Get the Experienced Texas Wage and Hour Law Representation You Deserve
Everyone has a right receive fair wages. Employers that are in violation of Texas wage and hour laws or Texas overtime laws may be liable for unpaid wages and damages. Furthermore, they may even have to pay your wages attorney’s fees.
Trying to make a living when an employer is not paying you what it owes is understandably frustrating. It is not fair for you to not be paid for the work you to or not receive overtime pay when you work extra hours. If this is happening to you, then call for a free consultation with an experienced overtime lawyer. Our wages attorney can help obtain the back wages and pay for missed overtime hours that your employer may owe you in McKinney, Allen, Frisco, Richardson and throughout Dallas.
Current Federal Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws
Since July 2009, the federal minimum wage has been $7.25 per hour. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) protects employees from minimum wage violations and other pay offenses. Under Texas wage and hour laws, employees classified as “non-exempt” must be paid time and a half for any hours worked beyond the standard 40-hour workweek.
Common Violation Examples of Wage and Hour Lawsuits
Employers sometimes try to avoid paying employees fair wages by not paying:
- For all hours worked
- For time when it asked employees to work while “off the clock”
- For time worked after making changes to employee time sheets
Employers must pay for all hours the employee spends working, which includes time spent between jobs on a shift and small work breaks (20 minutes or less). In some situations, driving to work may apply, as well.
If employees work for commission but do not make an amount equal to or more than the minimum wage per week, this may also be a violation of Texas wage and hour laws.
What are Texas Overtime Laws?
Texas overtime pay law can sometimes be complicated, and some employers will try to take advantage of that. Some of the more common violations include:
- Not paying time and a half for overtime hours
- Calling overtime hours “volunteered” time
- Private employers offering time off instead of overtime pay
- Deleting or modifying overtime hours from time sheets
- Failing to pay commissions or bonuses
- Small business owners that say FLSA does not cover their business, which means Texas overtime laws do not apply
In addition, salaried workers are not always exempt from receiving overtime pay. If a salaried worker earns less than $455 per workweek, then they too are non-exempt. Thus, the employer must pay this salaried employee for hours worked beyond the standard 40.
If you have doubts or questions, please take advantage of the free consultation that our law firm offers. We regularly assist clients throughout Dallas and Collin Counties. The consultation is free and completely confidential.